If you are reading this blog, it probably means that you are seeking more information on pending plans to mine uranium in our beautiful Virginia. The objective of this blog is provide our readers with the background information and updates on any developments pertaining to proposed uranium mining in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
For more detailed information please check our newly created website: www.uraniumfreeVA.org

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Provisional Committee Appointments for the NAS Study of Uranium Mining

The following provisional committee for the National Academies of Science study of uranium mining in Virginia (funded by Virginia Uranium Inc., the company seeking to lift Virginia's 1982 uranium mining moratorium) has been approved:

Dr Joaquin Ruiz, Chair, College of Science, University of Arizona, Tucson
Dr Corby Anderson, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado
Dr Lawrence W. Barnthouse, LWB Environmental Services, Inc., Hamilton, Ohio
Dr Scott C. Brooks, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Dr Patricia A. Buffler, School of Public Health, University of California, Berkeley
Dr Michel Cuney, Genesis and Management of Mineral Resources, Université Henri Poincaré, Nancy, France
Dr Peter L. deFur, Environmental Stewardship Concepts LLC, Henrico, Virginia
Dr Mary R. English, Institute for a Secure and Sustainable Environment, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Dr R. William Field, College of Public Health, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Dr Jill A. Lipoti, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, Trenton
Dr Paul A. Locke, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, Maryland
Mr Henry A. Schnell, Mining Business Unit, AREVA NC, Paris, France
Dr Jeffrey J. Wong, California Environmental Protection Agency, Sacramento

General public will have 20 days to challenge the appointments. Please see http://www8.nationalacademies.org/cp/ReportView.aspx?key=Provisional for more information on the comment submission process.

No comments:

Post a Comment